What’s new in ES2021

With the January meeting of TC39 behind us, the Stage-4 features that will make it into ES2021 have been selected.

💁‍♂️ Stage-4?

The Technical Committee which is concerned with the standardization of ECMAScript (i.e. TC39) has a 5 stage process in place, ranging from stage-0 to stage-4, by which it develops a new language feature.

Stage-4 is the Finished Stage and indicates that the proposal is ready to become part of the ECMAScript Specification.

The following features will be part of ES2021, which will be formalised mid-2021:

Apart from the linked-to posts above, Pawel Grzybek has done a writeup on all features. Additionally you can check all posts tagged es2021 on the V8 blog.

☝️ Note that you can use (most of) these features today already, as browsers start rolling them out (unflagged) when they hit Stage-3. So no, you don’t have to wait until mid-2021 to start using them.

Published by Bramus!

Bramus is a frontend web developer from Belgium, working as a Chrome Developer Relations Engineer at Google. From the moment he discovered view-source at the age of 14 (way back in 1997), he fell in love with the web and has been tinkering with it ever since (more …)

Unless noted otherwise, the contents of this post are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License and code samples are licensed under the MIT License

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.